Andy Goldsworthy: Natural Materials

“Andy Goldsworthy is an extraordinary, innovative British artist whose collaborations with nature produce uniquely personal and intense artworks. Using a seemingly endless range of natural materials—snow, ice, leaves, bark, rock, clay, stones, feathers petals, twigs—he creates outdoor sculpture that manifests, however fleeting, a sympathetic contact with the natural world. Before they disappear, or as they disappear, Goldsworthy, records his work in superb colour photographs.”

Even though Andy Goldsworthy creates his work outside in the natural environment, in terms of the materials he uses he is highly influential to my work. Even though I am exploring a connection to nature mostly through painting and drawing, I am using natural materials within my work and his work shows me there are no limits to what I can find out in nature and incorporate into my artwork.

His work physically reconnects people with nature as when they do to see a work of his art they are going out into the natural landscape, he is making people appreciate nature more and want to be connected with it. I want to expose people to nature too but through painting and drawing rather than land art works. Nature being used in art heightens its importance I feel as it is a worthy artistic subject and has been for centuries.

Some of his works made out of natural material are more permanent in the landscape. Seeing these pieces in a natural setting creates an obvious connection between art and nature. So I feel that seeing my work in a studio or gallery with natural material incorporated into it could also create a connection between art and nature and when incorporated into a landscape painting, give a more real sense of the place as it has natural materials from the place embedded within it. I want my work to help people realise the potential of nature as I feel Andy Goldsworthy’s does! It is such a shame that natural world is overlooked by many today and incorporating it into art might prevent it being overlooked so much.

One Comment on “Andy Goldsworthy: Natural Materials”


Leave a Reply

